Uncategorized

Oscar Aftermath

Alright, alright, alright. Let’s talk about the Oscars, aka my favorite night of the year. Anytime you put celebrities in couture and shove them in a room together, I’m in it for the long haul… and last night was a very long haul. Ellen was the perfect host, Twitter was extra snarky, and the cue music only forced people off the stage like twice… so I’d count it as a successful show.

Because I think of these people as my friends, (shhh it’s fine) I had a hard time picking my favorites. So I’ve compiled the trends of the night, assigned some superlatives, and called it a day. Enjoy.

Celebrity Couples: Brad & Angelina, Matthew & Camila, Jason & Olivia, and Dax & Kristen (my personal favorites)

Image

White Jackets: Ryan Seacrest, Jared Leto, and Matthew McConaughey

Image

Navy: Amy Adams, Kevin Spacey, and Sandra Bullock

Image

Not-so-basic Black: Emma Watson, Julia Roberts, and Charlize Theron

Image

Classic Tux: Bradley Cooper, Zac Efron, and Leonardo DiCaprio

Image

Sparkling Nudes: Cate Blanchett, Giuliana Rancic, and Jenna Dewan. This color was definitely the most popular this year, and these ladies were a few of the MANY rocking the embellished nude gowns.

Image

My Superlatives:

Best Dressed Female: Lupita Nyong’o. Perfect in every single way.

Image

Best Dressed Male: Joseph Gordon-Levitt. Does he ever get it wrong!?

Image

Worst Dressed: Anna Kendrick. Sorry funny lady, I think you’re great, but your dress sure wasn’t.

Image

Most Glam: Kate Hudson. The cape, the low v, the side-swept hair…it’s all good.

enhanced-1006-1393817581-8

Most Boring: Jennifer Lawrence. I know she’s the face of Dior, but why did her Dior gown have to be so “meh”

enhanced-31630-1393807593-5

Best Hair: Jared Leto. He can rock ombre better than any girl.

rs_634x1024-140302161714-634.Jared-leto-Oscars.jl.030214

Just Bizarre: Pharrell Williams… in shorts.

rs_634x1024-140302155742-634.pharell-helen-oscar.ls.3214

Best Velvet: Ellen Degeneres. Lena Dunham said it best when she tweeted “Every man here needs a lesson in rocking a tux from Ellen.”

ellenmain-g_2839971a

Best Brit: Benedict Cumberbatch. His suit game is always on point and he’s funny, charming, and really good at photobombing.

enhanced-31295-1393815667-6

Best Preggo: Olivia Wilde. Flawless.

enhanced-5933-1393803881-9

Worst Preggo: Kerry Washington. She’s so beautiful, but this dress did not flatter her. And I’m not into the whole vampy lip trend.

rs_634x1024-140302162631-634.Kerry-Washington-Oscars.jl.030214

Agree or disagree? I’d love to hear your thoughts in the comment section.

[all images from eonline or buzzfeed]

Standard

3 thoughts on “Oscar Aftermath

  1. My girlfriend does that “vampy” thing and I like it… So that’s the only one I disagree with, but I like your descriptions of everything, especially the words you decide to shorten — it’s funny.

  2. Kerry Washington is my GIRL and I was so disappointed to see what she wore to the Oscars. I do have to say though, her Oscar dress is better than the crop top piece she decided to wear at the MTV awards.

Leave a Reply

