Archives

The Sneaker

I can’t believe I’m about to admit that I, of all people, find myself on board with the sneaker trend. I know what you’re thinking… Isn’t this the very girl that openly mocked anyone and everyone who wore tennis shoes with jeans? Yes, it’s me, and I’m here to admit that I may have misjudged. Much like a jean jacket, I thought the sneaker would be forever out of the question when it came to style. (I don’t particularly like any item of clothing that gives me flashbacks to the prepubescent middle schooler I once was.) But I’ve seen people bring back the jean jacket (I refuse to acknowledge this trend) and I’ve seen people pull off the sneaker.

Image [source]

At first, throwing a sneaker on with a perfectly polished outfit seemed strange, but I kind of love it. The shoe adds a little carefree “I know I’m chic, I don’t even have to try” vibe to your outfit.

As with any trend, there are a few guidelines: pick a thinner shoe to pair with skinny jeans, don’t forget your accessories, and don’t be afraid to show some ankle.

Here are my favorite looks:

Image [source]

Image

[source]

Image[source]

Love it or hate it? I’d like to hear your thoughts in the comment section. And for all you skeptics out there, I was in NYC last week and I promise you even the chicest of chic were wearing sneaks!

ps- I will still mock middle-aged men in sneakers & jeans, Ryan Gosling style. 

Standard

6 thoughts on “The Sneaker

  1. I absolutely love this post. Skinnies and sneakers have been my “go to” outfit this year. Comfort, trendy, and chic. By the way, I agree with your opinion on the denim jacket wear! (When will this trend die?)

  2. Danielle Heichen says:

    Skinnies and sneakers are awesome! I never feel like I can pull it off but for taller girls it looks great. It is extremely trendy!

  3. I love sneakers with outfits such as these. They are comfortable and can be worn with just about anything. I have worn skinnies in the past and sneakers are always my go to for shoe wear. I personally like the denim jacket, but that’s because I grew up into that style while I played in a band it was the “norm” so I got use to wearing it and learned to love it. I appreciate any and all styles that people have, even if it doesn’t make sense to the majority. The most absurd or unconventional the look, the more I dig it.

  4. Ah! I cannot get on board this one! Not a sneaker girl here. There are tons of sweet comfy shoes out there! Grab a pair of moccasins or some loafers! Sneakers are for the GYM!

  5. kwoodford925 says:

    I have to agree with Amanda….when I see people with jeans and sneakers I think of Moms. But I have to say, these outfits look good with sneakers, I could just never rock it.

  6. I LOVE sneakers. Although majority of my closet makes up heals, I have really been trying to get my sneaker game up. I have a few basketball shoes that I wear as a statement, when I feel a little urban and want to just “kick it” but I have yet to get the perfect sneaker. Whenever I go shopping for sneakers, they never have what I am looking for! Sneakers have come a long way from just street wear.

Leave a Reply

